CAN YOU BELIEVE WHAT THEY BELIEVE?!!!

¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨

TODAY, the Real Americans are probably still wondering why so many people have blind faith that one person can miraculously change the world.

They’re probably wondering why so many people believe that this guy with Middle Eastern ties holds the key to their future, and can lead them to a promised land.

The Real Americans are probably wondering why so many people believe in a guy who has befriended sinners and folks of questionable character.

They’re probably wondering why so many people believe he will help care for the sick, and that he will put a spotlight on those left behind.

The Real Americans are probably wondering why so many people believe that this man, often persecuted because he is “different,” will try to bring more peace to the world.

Seriously, who would believe crazy shit like this?

4 Responses to “CAN YOU BELIEVE WHAT THEY BELIEVE?!!!”

  1. Look, I voted for Obama, but he’s not Jesus Christ.

    They’re all a bunch of bullshit artists, or will be when their term is up.

  2. Of course it’s all bullshit and Obama is no Jesus, but I’d still rather have faith in my fellow man than believe in biblical fairy tales.

  3. On a basic level, it says a lot about how far the country has come. . .and that has to make you feel proud as an American, at the very least. I voted for him, and I wish him all the luck in the world, because he is entering an overwhelming situation right now. I also liked what this columnist said in the Post today:

    ‘Since the Nixon era, conservatives have claimed to speak for the “silent majority.” Obama represents the future majority. It is the majority of a dynamic country increasingly at ease with its diversity. It reflects the forward-looking optimism of the young. It draws in new suburban and exurban voters whose priorities are resolutely practical — jobs, schools and transportation — and who dislike angry quarrels about gay marriage, abortion and religious orthodoxy.

    It is the majority of a culturally moderate nation that warmed to Obama’s talk of the importance of active fathers, strong families and personal responsibility. He emphasized reducing abortion, not banning it. He honored faith’s role in public life but rejected the marginalization of religious minorities and nonbelievers. For large parts of the world, his middle name will be an icon, proof of America’s commitment to religious pluralism.

    And Obama not only broke the ultimate racial barrier, he also spoke about race as no other politician ever has. He was uniquely able to see the question from both sides of the color line even as he embraced his black identity. He is not post-racial. He is multiracial. The word defines him as a person. It also describes the broad coalition that he built and the country he will lead.’

  4. 45vinyljunkie Says:

    Ralph Nader got my vote for the fourth (?) consecutive election. Every time I tell people that I voted for Nader, they tell me that I wasted my vote. I don’t look at it that way. By voting for Nader, I’m telling everyone that I don’t believe in the other candidates’ abilities to solve the problems of our country. My vote also says, in its own little way, that I don’t trust the other candidates. Having grown up during the Watergate era and also experiencing firsthand the negative effects of corporate America, I have become extremely cynical of all top-level politicians and people of power (CEOs, Wall Street executives, etc.).

    So, in a few years, if this country and its economy are still screwed up, I can proudly say, “Don’t blame me. I voted for Nader.”

Leave a Reply

