HEARING ‘DISAPPEARING’

¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨

I’VE never understood why it’s so unpopular to admit you like popular music.

I loved pop music when I was growing up — I guess all kids do. But I never grew out of it. I’m 43 and I still love the high I can get from a pop song. Not the Britney and the Miley shit (or practically all of the top 100 songs on iTunes at any given moment, for that matter), but well-crafted pop by artists like Fountains of Wayne, The Changes, Robyn, New Found Glory, The Format, Jimmy Eat World, Butch Walker and Lily Allen. The three-and-a-half-minute songs with chiming choruses that can actually bring a smile to your face the first time you hear them. The perfect melodies that make you wonder why no one ever strung those notes and chords together before.

While my classmates in high school were listening to the Doors (whose resurgence in the early ’80s completely confounded me), Zep and Halen, I was lovin’ the poppier, more modern sounds of the Cars and Flock of Seagulls and the Police and Talking Heads and the Pretenders and Marshall Crenshaw and XTC and Missing Persons and the Clash. The Doors were dead to me, and my music was the sound of happier days to come.

Then in 1981, I heard it — the perfect pop song. Some programming director must have accidentally let it slip through, because I don’t remember it getting much radio airplay. But it was love at first sound.

It was “Disappearing,” by some group called the Sinceros. I bought the 45. I bought the album, “Pet Rock.” The Sinceros were British (like most of the bands I liked back then), they wrote great new-wavey power pop, and they brought in Elton John’s producer, Gus Dudgeon, to sweeten the pot that was “Pet Rock,” their second LP.

I’ll never understand why “Disappearing” wasn’t a hit and “Keep On Loving You” was. Over the years, I’ve searched high and low for the album, or even the song, on CD. They’re just not there. The too-appropriately-named “Disappearing” isn’t on any ’80s compilation CD (though the band’s minor minor hit “Take Me To Your Leader,” from their debut album, is on a couple.) And “Pet Rock” has never been released on CD, which is a crime, as it’s one of the best power pop/rock albums ever recorded.

Recently, I found a fellow fan online, at a blog called VINYL GOLDMINE. The guy’s written a love letter to “Pet Rock” and the Sinceros: The Sinceros: More of the Best Power Pop You’ve (Probably) Never Heard. He’s uploaded the LP on his site, and I stole “Disappearing” from him. I’m posting it below so you can hear it, probably for the first time, almost three decades after I did.

There’s no way you’ll love the song as much as I did, as a geeky high school sophomore who never got into “Free Bird” or “Stairway to Heaven,” a boy whose family was disintegrating around him, a kid who kinda wanted to disappear himself. Just know that it made me happier then, and it still does.

LISTEN TO “Disappearing” by The Sinceros

12 Responses to “HEARING ‘DISAPPEARING’”

  1. That actually wasn’t bad. . .totally 80s, for sure, but it wasn’t bad.
    Thanks for the link.

  2. Yeah, very 80s. I never heard of the band so cool to hear it. I have to admit they’re better than “Shot In The Dark”!

  3. thanks for the shout out. always good to see fellow sinceros fans! – frank, vinyl goldmine

  4. I remember you at Kimmel freshman year with those crates of LPs and your turntable. I thought for sure you’d have some Morrison (Van or Jim) or Led Zep. But the Culture Club?

    Seriously, I recall you playing that record. I also recall you liking Todd Rundgren, an unsung pop genius.

  5. Craig, I still have to credit you with learnin’ me about John Prine, too. And I love Van now (Morrison, not Halen.)

  6. 45vinyljunkie Says:

    I just listened to “Disappearing,” but I have to say that I still like “Take Me to Your Leader” more.

    If you want to hear the greatest song of all time, just click or go to the following link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXvwyuMMBhg

    The song is called “Envy” and it’s by the Orlons. It’s from the spring of 1965 (rock music’s greatest year), but it failed to chart, so most people have never heard it.

  7. […] couple weeks ago I wrote about “Disappearing” by the Sinceros, a hit that shoulda been. Here’s another catchy pop-rock song that shoulda been big a few […]

  8. Holy shit! I love that song. I searched on iTunes to no avail, went Googling around for it and found your blog. Thank you for the link. I share your love of power pop. Don’t forget about “What’s So Funny About Peace, Love And Understanding,” the Nick Lowe song that Elvis Costello made famous.

    Andy

  9. Rats. The link is inactive. Any other thoughts on getting a copy of this song?

  10. jondotkom Says:

    Ooof, I am stumbling upon this blog three year too late, still I had to chime-in and concur completely: The Sincero’s “Disappearing” is as close to the perfect pop single ever recorded in the history of human kind.

    I was finally able to download it off of iTunes and, to this day, it still affects me the same way it did all those decades ago: A melancholy smile creeps across my face, my heart melts, a feeling of dangerously sweet longing fills my chest and I begin singing along.

    Yep, one of the greatest pop tunes of all time.

  11. Je l’ai entendue la première fois sur une radio libre FM en 81′, après l’élection de Mitterrand. Ca devait être sur radio 7, ou la “Voix du Lézard”. Elle passait souvent contrairement à ce que tu pensais. Je l’avais même enregistrée sur K7 tellement elle m’avait marqué et nombreux que nous étions à aimer cette musique romantique New Wave qui nous venait de l’autre côté du channel pour notre plus grand bonheur à tous à cette époque sans internet. Et hier, après moult recherches sur YT, j’ai enfin fini par la retrouver (33 ans après!). D’ailleurs, le titre était prémonitoire. Je n’avais pas retenu le nom du groupe mais même avec le seul titre, j’ai galéré car je pensais qu’elle venait entre 82 et 84′. Elle m’avait tellement envoûté cette musique que je ne pouvais pas en rester là. Aussi, ça serait bien de connaître les paroles et la traduction en Français.

  12. I heard it the first time on a free FM radio in 81 ‘, after the election of Mitterrand. It had to be on radio 7, or “Voice of the Lizard”. She often went in France contrary to what you thought. I had even recorded on K7 so she had marked me and many that we were to love this romantic New Wave music that had us on the other side of the channel for our greatest happiness to all this time without internet. And yesterday, after much research on YT, I finally ended up finding (after 33 years!). Moreover, the title was prescient. I did not remember the name of the group but even with the only title I struggled because I thought it was between 82 and 84. She was so enthralled me that music that I could not stop there. Also, it would be nice to know the lyrics and translation in French.

Leave a Reply

